ToNY CaMM & The FUNK Allstars funk up the stage at 5 Points Music Sanctuary!

Friday night, March 6, ToNY CaMM & The FUNK Allstars brought their "psychedelic funk circus" to the 5 Points Music Sanctuary in Roanoke, VA.

Serving as the opening act for the electrifying Freekbass and the Bump Assembly, Camm and his band of funk marauders got the stage nice and hot and the 5 Points crowd on their feet, performing an hour-long set that included P-Funk hits, their genre-created #FunktheDead, and the band's staple "One Rhythm, One Nation" show ender.

Kicking the set off with rousing renditions of Funkadelic's "Friday Night August The 14th" and "Red Hot Mama"that were given extra life by the always-energetic dancing of front-woman and vocalist Jacqui Camm, the band brought things current with the new Parliament hit "I'm Gone Make U Sick 'O Me", followed by the group's "funk the dead" version of The Grateful Dead's "Franklin's Tower", before asking the already-funked-up crowd to "free your mind" as guitarists Jimmy Young and Ashley Sutton, backed by Chris Schmitt on keys, Patrick Street on bass, and Lonnie Daye, Jr. on drums launched into a dual solo spiritual rendition of Funkadelic's "Maggot Brain", accompanied by an electric light hoola hoop dancer positioned front of stage.

Always wanting to leave the crowd on their feet, the band then launched into a medley of Parliament's "Flashlight" and "Give Up The Funk" and ended the show with their message-inspired jam of unity "(Da Butt) One Rhythm, One Nation".

The night was truly one nation under a groove.

Follow the band's One Rhythm One Nation Tour HERE.






Leave a comment

Add comment